Euro Winners List 1960 to 2022: UEFA European Championship Finals
Euro Winners List 1960 to 2022: UEFA European Championship Finals

The Euro winners list is out and there are some big surprises! Germany and Spain were both early favourites to take home the title but neither of them made it to the final. France and Portugal were both dark horses in the competition but they managed to make it to the top two spots. So, who took home the coveted prize?

Euro Winners List

  • Spain (2012, 2008)
  • Germany (2014)Italy (2006)
  • Greece (2004)
  • France (2000, 1984, 1980)
  • Portugal (2016)
  • Denmark (1992)
  • Czech Republic (1996)
  • Netherlands (1988)
  • Russia (2018)

Spain is the most recent team to have won the European Championship, doing so in 2012 and 2008. Germany won the tournament in 2014, while Italy took home the trophy in 2006. Greece were victorious in 2004, with France winning the tournament in 2000, 1984, and 1980. Portugal are the current holders of the trophy, having won Euro 2016. Denmark claimed victory in 1992, while the Czech Republic were victorious in 1996. The Netherlands won Euro 1988 and Russia won Euro 2018.

UEFA European Championship: The roll of honour

The UEFA European Championship, also known as the Euros, is an international football tournament contested by the European men’s national teams of the member countries of UEFA (Union of European Football Associations). The Euros are held every four years, in the even-numbered year between World Cups.

The first Euros tournament was held in 1960, with Soviet Union winning the title. Since then, there have been 15 more tournaments. Germany has won the most titles, with three victories. France and Spain have each won two titles. Other past winners include Italy (1), Czechoslovakia (1), Netherlands (1), Denmark (1), Greece (1), and Portugal (1).

The most recent tournament was Euro 2016, which was hosted by France. Portugal won the title, defeating hosts France 1-0 in the final.

Soviet Union (1960)

The Soviet Union dominated the early years of the European Championship, winning the first two tournaments in 1960 and 1964. They also reached the final in 1972, but were beaten by West Germany. After failing to qualify for the 1976 tournament, they reached the final again in 1988, but lost to Holland. Their last appearance came in 1991, when they were beaten in the semi-finals by Yugoslavia.

UEFA Euro Cup Winners List 1960-2022/Euro 2022)

In the history of the UEFA European Championship, there have been only two teams that have managed to win the title more than once: Spain (1964, 2008, 2012) and Germany (1972, 1980, 1996). Here is the complete list of winners of the UEFA European Championship since its inception in 1960:

  • 1960 – Soviet Union
  • 1964 – Spain
  • 1968 – Italy
  • 1972 – Germany
  • 1976 – Czechoslovakia
  • 1980 – Germany
  • 1984 – France
  • 1988 – Netherlands
  • 1992 – Denmark
  • 1996 – Germany
  • 2000 – France
  • 2004 – Greece
  • 2008 – Spain
  • 2012 – Spain
  • 2016 – Portugal

The next edition of the UEFA European Championship will be held in 2022. Given the recent success of Spanish and German teams, it is safe to say that one of these two countries will most likely take home the title once again.

The Top Goalscorer in The Euros

The European Championship is a quadrennial tournament contested by the men’s national teams of Europe. The Euros have been held since 1960, with the current format consisting of 24 teams competing in the group stage, followed by a knockout stage.

The top goalscorer in the Euros is the player who scores the most goals during the tournament. The Euros have been won by numerous players over the years, but only a handful have managed to emerge as top goalscorers.

Some of the most prolific goalscorers in Euros history include Michel Platini, who scored nine goals in 1984; Cristiano Ronaldo, who has eight goals in 2012 and 2016; and Alan Shearer, who scored seven goals in 2000.

Other notable mentions include Marco van Basten, who scored six goals in 1988; Zlatan Ibrahimovic, who has five goals in 2016; and Robbie Keane, who scored five times in 2004.

Rate this post
Previous articleQatar 2022 World Cup Qualification: Everything You Need To Know
Next articleFIFA World Cup Bracket 2022 and Schedule (Printable)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here